Hikvision - "Device is locked" message

Hikvision - "Device is locked" message

If you get a "device is locked" message while attempting to access your Hikvision recorder remotely, this could indicate 5 failed password input attempts. At this time, access to the recorder is locked out for 30 minutes. This means no remote access is possible during this time. Only local access (at the actual recorder) will be possible. If local access is not possible, the only option is to wait until the lock out is over.

This lock feature is part of the Hikvision firmware v 5.3.0 or later. It cannot be changed.

If the issue persists after the lock out has expired and you are sure you are using the correct login credentials, try the following in order until the issue is resolved:
  1. Shut down the app completely then relaunch
  2. Reboot the video recorder
  3. Delete the video recorder from the app then re-add (after writing down all connection information for the recorder)
  4. Uninstall the app then reinstall
If none of these steps resolve the issue, please contact our support desk for further assistance. Thank you.